Missing Happy Hour -a step in the right direction

happyhour

Happy Hour – the American past time where coworkers and friends meet to enjoy each others company, spend money and get drunk. Well at least drink.

Here’s the thing, I’m not on this journey to discourage anyone from drinking, or to say drinking is bad. But drinking is bad for me. I say that because I don’t like the person I become when I drink. This is hard to admit, but I am not a nice person when I drink. Now it doesn’t happen every time, but it happens enough. First step’s are admitting, so here I am, admitting my faults. So this is where Bent Beginnings begins.

Now, Happy Hour… why does it matter if I missed it? Who cares… Well, I do, and the monthly scheduled Happy Hour’s are a great way for me to connect with members of the club I joined. But my question is why can’t we do other activities in order to connect? Again, it comes down to culture, right? Our American culture deems it “normal” to drink after work, but when that surpasses control, then that’s where we have a problem.

My day 2 of this sobering journey is so far going well. I am looking at life with a different view. Why allow the negativities in life to drown you? Why let little things get to you? These are things I’ve heard and told myself all my life, but somehow, something clicked. I’m walking through each day reminding myself “Don’t be so critical, on yourself and others.” Don’t allow yourself to be pulled down by negative people, and especially negative thoughts. In order for this to work I’m allowing myself to think them, but reminding myself to let it go.

I will say, maybe one day I’ll be able to attend these events, Happy Hour, Drinking Events, etc., and be able to control myself, either drinking or not. But either way, right now I will allow myself this journey first to see this through.

Well…

Cheers to Life! 

2 thoughts on “Missing Happy Hour -a step in the right direction

Leave a Reply

